Get SF Weekly Newsletters
Pin It

Rabbit Habbit 

Wednesday, Nov 14 2012
Comments
The conceit of toys with rich internal lives has entertained generations from Pinocchio to Toy Story but none as beautifully as The Velveteen Rabbit. Seemingly written for dance, this 1922 children’s story is overflowing with tender, lyrical wistfulness and dynamic transformation: A humble stuffed rabbit, surrounded by superior mechanical toys “full of modern ideas,” is taught about the power of love by a rickety old toy horse. Does it hurt? Sometimes. Does it happen all at once? By the time you are real, explains the ever-truthful Skin Horse, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. For over 25 years, ODC has used vivid costumes designed by award-winning children’s illustrator Brian Wildsmith, and a lovely narration by British stage performer Geoff Hoyle, to bring this brilliant toy box to life. And while the threat of scarlet fever and a flaming trash heap may not seem appropriate for children as young as three, a Nursery Magic Fairy and a stage full of scampering, tumbling bunnies trumps a wooden nutcracker any day.
Nov. 23-25, 2 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 29, 11 a.m.; Fri., Nov. 30, 11 a.m.; Sat., Dec. 1, 1 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 2, 2 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 6, 2 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 7, 2 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 8, 1 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 9, 2 p.m., 2012

About The Author

Silke Tudor

Related Locations

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Slideshows

  • Third Eye Blind @ The Masonic
    Third Eye Blind performed on Sunday, July 26 at The Masonic to a sold out show with the support of Dashboard Confessional & Ex-Cops. Photographs by Christopher Victorio.
  • Morrissey @ San Jose Events Center
    The last stop for Morrissey serenaded the sold out crowd during his only Northern California date on Saturday, July 25 at the San Jose Events Center. Photographs by Christopher Victorio.

Popular Stories

  1. Most Popular Stories
  2. Stories You Missed