Best of the New

Each year, the San Francisco Foundation accepts submissions of unpublished manuscripts from California natives and current residents; they then honor the authors of the most outstanding work with cash awards and permanent housing of their manuscripts in UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library. The selections represent a stunning collection of the area's emerging writers; past recipients include U.S. Poet Laureate Philip Levine, former California Poet Laureate Al Young, and the likes of Raymond Carver, Ernest Gaines, Jane Hirshfield (and the list goes on). This year's winners include Aja Couchois Duncan, Danny Romero, and Cooley Windsor, all of whom will read from their manuscripts.

Wed., Nov. 13, 6:30 p.m., 2013
My Voice Nation Help
©2014 SF Weekly, LP, All rights reserved.