Peep This Year’s Stern Grove Festival Lineup

Don't miss Brazilian Girls, Fantastic Negrito, Kool & The Gang, Mavis Staples, and others!

Stern Grove Festival turns 80 this year, and the 10-week Sunday concert series is pulling all the stops. Starting on Sunday, June 25, and ending Sunday, August 27, a slew of talented, not to mention eclectic acts will roll through Sigmund Stern Grove.

The festival kicks off with a performance by Kool & the Gang — the ’80s R&B sensation famous for “Celebration,” “Jungle Boogie,” and “Ladies’ Night” — who will be joined by Bay Area blues/soul singer, Quin DeVeaux.  Oakland blues guitarist Fantastic Negrito and soul singer Nicki Bluhm headline the next weekend of Stern Grove Festival, followed by the San Francisco Symphony.

Throughout the festival’s two-month run, acts like Eric Burdon (the frontman of WAR and The Animals), romantic cumbia band Los Angeles Azules, the San Francisco Ballet, blind Malian couple Amadou & Mariam, San Francisco Latin rock group Malo, electronic dance group Brazilian Girls, horn and percussion trio Moon Hooch, and singer Mavis Staples will also perform.

Don’t forget that while admission is FREE, the place fills up fast, so don’t dilly-dally!

Sunday, June 25
Kool & The Gang
Quinn DeVeaux

Sunday, July 2
Nicki Bluhm and The Gramblers
Fantastic Negrito

Sunday, July 9
San Francisco Symphony
Edwin Outwater

Sunday, July 16
Eric Burdon and The Animals
The Stone Foxes

Sunday, July 23
Los Angeles Azules
Ensambles Ballet Folklorico de San Francisco

Sunday, July 30
San Francisco Ballet
Helgi Tomasson

Sunday, August 6
Amadou & Mariam
Ibibio Sound Machine

Sunday, August 13
WAR
Malo

Sunday, August 20
Brazilian Girls
Moon Hooch

Sunday, August 27
Mavis Staples
Kev Choice Ensemble

View Comments