16 Shows to Look Forward to in January

R. Kelly, Kamasi Washington, AFI, Kings of Leon, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, and more are coming to the Bay.

There’s a lot of exciting shows coming up in January that you should probably start nabbing tickets for before they sell out. Everyone from Devendra Banhart, Pepper, and R. Kelly to AFI, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, and Kings of Leon are hitting the Bay, so get pumped, because January is gonna be lit!

Kamasi Washington
Where: SF Jazz
When: Friday, Jan. 6 to Sunday, Jan. 8
What: Jazz with a modern twist

Tycho
Where: The Fox Theater
When: Saturday, Jan. 7
What: Ambient, electronic, instrumental

Hot Flash Heat Wave
Where: Rickshaw Stop
When: Friday, Jan. 6
What: Garage rock.

Sonny and The Sunsets
Where: Great American Music Hall
When: Friday, January 6
What: Indie rock, indie pop

R. Kelly
Where: Oracle Arena
When: Sunday, Jan. 15
What: R&B, pop

Devendra Banhart
Where: The Fillmore
When: Thursday, Jan. 26
What: Freak-folk, pysch-folk, folk-rock

Talib Kweli
Where: The UC Theatre in Berkeley
When: Saturday, Jan. 21
What: Hip-Hop, conscious rap

Kings of Leon
Where: Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
When: Friday, Jan. 27
What: Southern rock

Geographer
Where: Rickshaw Stop
When: Friday, Jan. 20
What: Indie pop

Pepper
Where: The Warfield
When: Saturday, Jan. 28
What: Reggae-rock

A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie
Where: New Parish
When: Sunday, Jan. 22
What: Rap

Fantastic Negrito
Where: New Parish
When: Friday, Jan. 13
What: Soul, blues

AFI
Where: Fox Theater
When: Saturday, Jan. 21
What: Garage-punk, gothic-rock, emo, pop-punk

Mogwai
Where: The UC Theatre in Berkeley
When: Thursday, Jan. 19
What: Experimental rock

Desert Dwellers
Where: 1015 Folsom
When: Friday, Jan. 6
What: Downtempo, tribal, trance

Bells Atlas
Where: Rickshaw Stop
When: Tuesday, Jan. 24
What: Soul, funk, fusion

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Stories