California Roots Releases a Vinyl Compilation Album

A record with songs from artists on the lineup? Talk about a novel idea!

In February, California Roots Music and Arts Festival impressed up by planting 800 redwood seedlings on an 80-acre plot in Point Arena, California. Now they’re do something else that’s strange and different, at least compared to most music festivals.

For the event’s eighth year — which occurs on Friday, May 26 through Sunday, May 28, at the Monterey County Fair and Events Center — they’re introducing another new thing: a vinyl compilation album featuring songs from band’s on this year’s lineup.

Though festival headliner Nas is notably absent from the album’s track listing, the other two main acts — Rebelution and Dirty Heads — are on it, along with a number of other stellar acts, like John Brown’s Body, Common Kings, and SOJA. And the songs aren’t recent either, which is pretty cool. That means that the 2015 song you liked from Passafire (“Feel It”) will be on there, along with the new Collie Buddz track, “Good Life.”

Check out the full tracklisting below and pre-order the record here. 

Side A

1. “Choice is Yours” – Stick Figure (Feat. Slightly Stoopid)
2. “Inhale Exhale” – Rebelution (Feat. Protoje)
3. “Good Life” – Collie Buddz
4. “Used to Matter” – SOJA
5. “Finally” – Jesse Royal
6. “Feel It” – Passafire

Side B

7. “Hard Man Fe Dead” – John Brown’s Body (Feat. Karim Israel of Arise Roots)
8. “Thunder and Sun” – The Late Ones
9. “Mary Wanna” – Common Kings
10. “Moon Tower” – Dirty Heads
11. “Me Only” – Unified Highway (Feat. Busy Signal)
12. “Shadow” (remix) – Stick Figure (Feat. Raging Fyah)

Tags: , , , , ,

Related Stories