SF Pride Announces 2017 Grand Marshals

The theme, "A Celebration of Diversity," conceals the political orientation of the march and parade.

While Los Angeles decided to scrap its Pride parade in favor of a protest march, SF Pride will mark its 47th annual weekend as it usually does, with a celebration and rally (Saturday, June 24 from noon to 6 p.m.) followed by a parade (Sunday, June 25, 10:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.) under the rather anodyne theme of “A Celebration of Diversity.”
But today, the organization announced its community grand marshals and Main Stage speakers, and the choices are more pointedly political than the theme suggests. For example, Maysam Sodagari, an Iranian-born immigrant who was detained under Trump’s failed executive order banning all refugees and nationals born in seven predominantly Muslim countries, will speak on Saturday. And in solidarity with the Women’s March, the widely lauded activist Cleve Jones will lead the parade with one of the Community Grand Marshals, Alex U. Inn, and a “resistance contingent” meant to stick it to the Trump Administration and its panoply of anti-LGBT, anti-immigrant, anti-Muslim, anti-Latino, and anti-urban agenda.
Community Grand Marshals
Chris Carnes, Bay Area activist and philanthropist.
Alex U. Inn (Carmen Alex Morrison), an advocate for justice and equality
Amy Sueyoshi, activist, and scholar of queer Asian American history.  
Danielle Castro, Project Director of UCSF’s Community Based Research for the Center of Excellence for Transgender Health
San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus
Dr. Marcy Adelman, psychotherapist and pioneer in the field of lesbian and gay aging (Lifetime Achievement Grand Marshal)
Meanwhile, the Heritage of Pride Awards have been bestowed as well. Brett Andrews, the CEO of the HIV legal counseling and employment services nonprofit Positive Resource Center (PRC) has won the 10 Years of Service Award. The Pride Freedom Award has gone to 10-year-old trans advocacy organization El/La Para TransLatinas, while SF Pride looked favorably on the 40-year-old National Center for Lesbian Rights for its Pride Community Award. Bay Area American Indian Two-Spirits (BAAITS) won the Gilbert Baker Pride Founder’s Award, named for the recently deceased creator of the rainbow flag.
Individually, human rights activist, refugee, and Board Chair of the Spectra Project Subhi Nahas won the José Julio Sarria History Maker Award; housing rights organizer and queer Mexican immigrant Maria Zamudio won the Teddy Wetherington Award; and “artivist,” songstylist, and advocate Blackberri won the Audrey Joseph LGBTQ Entertainment Award.
See the full list of honorees here and find out more information about Pride 2017 here.
San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade: A Celebration of Diversity, Saturday and Sunday, June 24-25, sfpride.org.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Related Stories